The Power Outage – Flash Fiction For 3/29/13

If you would like to come out and play with Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and the Friday Fictioneers, click here.

Genre: Futuristic

Photo copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Photo copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

McKenzie stared at the dead smartphone, confounded.

Her grandma enjoyed her consternation.

“Don’t worry. People lived like this for thousands of years. You’ll survive.”

No texting, no Facebook, no Justin Bieber. McKenzie felt lost.

“When I was your age we didn’t have electricity, or even a bathroom.”

Gross to the max, thought McKenzie.

“Look at it as an adventure, like camping out.”

Camping out sucks. Get real.

“Try reading a book.”

My Kindle battery is dead. My life is over.

“Might as well get used to it. The Chinese say they won’t turn it back on until we pay them.”

31 responses to “The Power Outage – Flash Fiction For 3/29/13

  1. in the alternating lines, is that internal dialogue? i don’t see quotes, so i’m guessing that’s the case. those lines for mckenzie seem in first person, but it doesn’t start out first person. does it need to start out first person for us to hear that internal dialogue? i’m not sure. i might be thinking too much.

    oh, the plight of the young, to be without those “essentials” on which they depend! i have no pity for them! well done.

  2. I read it is internal dialogue but then again I am not sure about all the rules of grammar. This is so true to life, my oldest is clued to her Nook her itouch….but thankfully isn’t a big video game head like I was back in the late 80’s early 90’s. Great ending Ron. Made me smile!

    Tom

  3. I liked the way McKenzie’s thoughts interweave with Gran’s prodding. Great, and just like “kids today”!
    I was a bit confused about “the Chinese” – what’s going on there, I wonder?

  4. Ron, I enjoyed this because I’m an old geezer who remembers these things and who fights too much dependence on technology myself but can still enjoy just sitting by the wood-burning stove reading (as long as I can get my blog done.) 🙂

    janet

  5. Oh poor McKenzie, whatever will she do?! Maybe I’m being nitpicky, but I think it would have been easier to read if McKenzie’s internal dialogue had been set off by italics.

  6. ‘no Justin Bieber’ made me laugh out loud! Poor McKenzie.
    We torture our kids with camping trips every year – partly for our own sadistic pleasure – partly so they know that technology isn’t everything. It takes a couple of days for the withdrawal symptoms to go, but they end up enjoying themselves 🙂

  7. I love this, both the Grandma’s no-nonsense comments, and the teenager’s whining. And that last line is funny, but also not so funny when you think about it..

  8. I actually caught my breath at the last line. The Chinese own the world these days. And governments aren’t able to pay their bills so easily any longer. Scary thought! As for the dialogue, wasn’t a bit confused.

  9. Hey, Ron! I liked this a LOT! Makes me feel like a wuss these days since I enjoyed not having the modern conveniences as a kid when we went camping. Big adventure! Hopefully, I can get that back in some form. 😉
    Thanks for this!

  10. A fun story! You touched upon a similar thought as I did with this week’s prompt, in kids having to deal with life without electronics. I enjoyed McKenzie’s reactions to her lost electronics. No Justin Bieber?! Oh, no!!

  11. Loved this Ron. Especially the last line re. the Chinese. Thanks for the chuckle. Also enjoyed your “invisible line” comment on Russell’s story. I’m “Last of the Mohigans” this week. Still learning how to navigate the ins and outs of WorkPress.

  12. This is one of my favorite Ron stories of all time. The grammar didn’t distract me, but I nearly choked on my cocktail when I read the last sentence. Outstanding!

Leave a Reply

