Burning Bridges – Flash Fiction for 3/14/14

If you would like to come out and play with the Friday Fictioneers, click here.

Word Count : 100

Genre: Parody

Burning Bridges

Photo copyright Adam Ickes

Photo copyright Adam Ickes

If you are one of millions who suffer from the overwhelming urge to burn your bridges behind you (pyroconnectivus), talk to your doctor about Zoqix, the first prescription drug developed for bridge burners. With a daily dose of Zoqix, your bridge burning syndrome can be overcome. Do not take Zoqix if you have flat feet, dimples, knobby knees, moles, ingrown toenails or a unibrow. Side effects may include runny nose, rash, weak knees, warts, drooling, blindness, deafness, and spontaneous combustion. In rare cases, fatal hiccup attacks have been reported. Stop burning bridges today and start building bridges to the future.

20 responses to “Burning Bridges – Flash Fiction for 3/14/14

  1. Looks like you’re handing out samples of Zoquiix at the foot of this bridge as it’s still standing after the onslaught of attacks from this week’s Fictioneers. However, I’ve heard some of the participants have exhibited murderous side effects after taking your freebies.

  2. i don’t know if i’m still sleepy or just stupid, because i actually started typing Zoqix in Google search. (then i stopped and laughed at myself) sounds like a legit cure to me πŸ™‚ good one.

  3. Very funny concept! The medicine for those who burn their bridges behind them. I’ve been known to do that and I already have all the side effects so I’m home free! This could be expanded into an Onion piece for sure.

  4. I think a lot of people could use this stuff, especially if it’s preventative, too. They will not be burning any more bridges, ever. This is really funny, Ron. Great!

  5. Dear Ron,

    I’m sure I’ve seen the commercial for this. A couple is dancing on a bridge. Her chiffon skirts are flowing in the breeze. Soft music plays and we hear the lilting voice of the announcer. Very clever and nearly had my coffee spurting from my nose.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. A very enjoyable take on the prompt – as someone who is allergic to a lot of medication I tend to read the accompanying notices very carefully. This was pitched perfectly and it made me laugh πŸ™‚

  7. Bridges burn themselves when they see me and my unibrow striding towards them. Have you ever seen a striding unibrow? Anyway, very funny, Ron. I think it is as funny as it is because the list of side effects are just like those you read in a medication’s leaflet. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

