Fire and Ice – Flash Fiction For 3/7/14

If you would like to come out and play with the Friday Fictioneers, click here.

Fire and Ice

Some say the world will end in fire,

Some say in ice.

From what I’ve tasted of desire I hold with those who favor fire.

But if it had to perish twice, I think I know enough of hate

To say that for destruction ice

Is also great

And would suffice.

Robert Frost
Photo copyright Danny Bowman

Photo copyright Danny Bowman

Fire and Ice

The man and woman on the survival reality show trekked across the immense Icelandic tundra, shivering and hungry.

“I’m sorry I let you talk me into this. I’ve never been so miserable,” said the woman.

The director smiled, pleased.

“Argue some more,” he said. “We need conflict.”

“You’ve always been weak,” said the man. “Stop whining.”

The camera crew needed to reset the shot, so they paused. Suddenly there was a rumble and the nearby mountain exploded and fire and flying rock filled the sky.

“Are you getting this?” the director shouted to his crew just before they all died.

23 responses to “Fire and Ice – Flash Fiction For 3/7/14

  1. I, too, hold reality TV in great disdain. What’s truly frightening is if you read Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, he describes a kind of interactive Reality TV — many many years ahead of it’s time. Bradbury was right. Makes me want to read a book — no — makes me want to pick up a book, fan its pages in my face, breathe in it’s scent, rub its rough pages on my cheek, and try not to wet its pages too much with my tears.

  2. I always wonder whose reality it’s supposed to be, although I’ve never seen one of the shows. I’m with Helena. Books are my choice always. Ron, I can see this happening in real life, which is sad. Good job! Nice tie-in with the Frost poem.

    janet

  3. Since I believe all reality shows are heavily scripted, I love your ending. Nothing like an unexpected fire-and-brimstone conclusion to a very bad idea. Would that all reality TV would experience a similar fate although I’m sure it would be replaced by something equally as inane with an even lower budget.

  4. Ha!ha!This tongue in cheek tale about the awful thing called reality show was totally entertaining Ron-loved it and though the end was tragic,yet it did not detract from the dig you rightly took at the farce of such “created” reality!

  5. i don’t watch t.v. anymore. beautiful poem, love reading it here. and this story’s a thousand time’s better and more real than a ‘reality’ show 🙂

  6. Ron,
    everything for the perfect shot, eh? I really don’t like “reality” TV because it really just does center on personal conflict. Now maybe have them fight a bear… 🙂
    (By the way, I’ve realized recently I’ve missed your stories for quite a while, so let me apologize. It’s not you, I’ve just not had much time to read many of the Friday Fictioneers stories lately. I’ll try to catch up though.)
    -David

Leave a Reply

