A House Divided – Flash Fiction For 2/7/14

If you would like to come out and play with the Friday Fictioneers, click here.

Photo copyright Dawn M. Miller

Photo copyright Dawn M. Miller

A House Divided

A serious young guy was running the yard sale. I asked him about a table of old lamps.
“I collected those, but my ex liked modern. I like antique.”
“Is that why you broke up,” I joked. He didn’t smile.
“It was a lot more than that. She liked carpet. I like wood floors. She liked granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. I like retro. She liked uncluttered. I like clutter. Now that she’s gone, I’m selling everything and moving away.”
“That’s too bad. So you divorced over home decor?”
“We didn’t divorce. She liked knives. I like guns.”

25 responses to “A House Divided – Flash Fiction For 2/7/14

  1. Oh Ron what does it say that I laughed heartily upon reading this. Just my sense of humor black like my coffee.Why is it that opposites often attract. Frankly she should know not to bring a knife to a gunfight. Awesome story.

  2. Wow, the possibilities there…so clever and it wasn’t till I read it out to my roommate that it dawned on me the intent behind the use of past tense- she liked. Deadly, well written and I much enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

