The Third Wheel – Flash Fiction For 7/19/13

Photo copyright Anelephantcant

Photo copyright Anelephantcant

I found her bike parked outside the open-air bar and there she was with Bennett, drinking and laughing. They leaned close as I watched, sparks practically flying between them. At a distance I lurked, not believing my eyes. Just the day before, she had been warm and willing, no hint I would be dumped. They quickly downed two cocktails and walked off together into the dusk, leaving her bike. I got on it and pedaled in the opposite direction, pumping until I was exhausted, trying to drive her off my mind. Why do they always go back to their husbands?

If you would like to come out and play with the Friday Fictioneers, click here.

25 responses to “The Third Wheel – Flash Fiction For 7/19/13

Leave a Reply

