The Beach Party – Flash Fiction For 1/25/13

If you would like to come out and play with Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and the Friday Fictioneers, click here.

Genre: Whimsy

Photo copyright Renee Homan Heath

Photo copyright Renee Homan Heath

The singles beach party was a mess. I had a crush on Annette, but she had a thing for Tommy. Peggy slipped me a note saying she liked me and kept walking by in her black bikini. Nobody was going to tell her she didnโ€™t have the body for it. I refused to make eye contact. Annette and Tommy were on a blanket and I saw him rubbing lotion on her back. Tommyโ€™s girlfriend Sandra was furious. I was glad when the party broke up early and we had to head back in time for bingo at the retirement village.

44 responses to “The Beach Party – Flash Fiction For 1/25/13

  1. I knew 100 words were going by fast and wondered how you would resolve your tale. i never expected it to be bingo at the retirement village. Interesting way to twist at the last second.

  2. Ha, ha, ha! I needed a good laugh right about now. Thanks! Of course, anyone who’s ever read Ann Landers (or had her read to them), knows that old people ain’t dead, they’re just old. ๐Ÿ™‚

    janet

  3. Ha Ha Ha ha. ๐Ÿ™‚ Still laughing. And I bet they all were ready to go to bed early. Right? All that fun in the sun will do that. I don’t think I would have wanted to see much of Peggy in the black bikini either at that stage of her life. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. great human interaction and people juggling in this piece. with annette, i was waiting for a “frankie” to show up. and when it was a retirement place, then i thought that even more. i actually saw frankie avalon about two months ago at a small theater in my town.

  5. Too funny. I laughed when I read the ending. The line of didn’t have the body for a black bikini put a picture in my mind I’m not sure I wanted there. After I read the ending of course. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

