Legacy – Flash Fiction for 1/18/13

If you would like to come out and play with Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and the Friday Fictioneers, click here.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Photo copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Photo copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

They say I was left on the steps of the orphanage where I grew up. I knew nothing of my heritage or even my name.

When the FedEx package of random items arrived, I was mystified.

Enclosed was a letter from a lawyer:  “Our research finds you are the sole living heir of Ezra Cohen. These are his possessions. Mr. Cohen survived internment in a German death camp. He believed all his family was deceased. We hope these mementos of your grandfather will be meaningful to you.”

While I marveled at the objects, my matzo ball soup was getting cold.

29 responses to “Legacy – Flash Fiction for 1/18/13

  1. Dear Ron,
    I agree with Kent. There’s more story here. You’ve captured the character’s curiosity mixed with a certain amount of apathy. My appetite’s whetted for more than matzo ball soup. Good job!
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  2. I am glad the boy (now grown up?) finally had some closure to his past and answers to the mystery about his ancestry, with mementos of his grandfather. I have my grandfather’s German bible. I love the stories that hold mysteries to one’s ethnic background. It is why I was literally so addicted to doing over twenty-five years of genealogy research on my German Russian paternal grandfather before learning that his family were converted Ashkenazim Jews from Germany. It hooked me. A very good story, Ron.

  3. I love how the narrator receives all this stuff, but is still more worried about his soup getting cold. I definitely think there’s more to be explored here about how his mind is working.

  4. there are a lot of “lost” children who would pay dearly for any kind of connection to their past. sometimes it is impossible. and sometimes, rarely, there is a gift like this. well done.

  5. To be able to get some possessions that speak about your heritage will definitely be precious for someone who has no connection with their family. Great take on the prompt.

Leave a Reply

