He said, she said

Photo copyright Sean Fallon

“What’s that?” he said.

“I think it’s called found art,” she said.

“That’s not art, it’s trash.”

“You have to look past the outward appearance.”

“Would you want that on your coffee table?”

“Why not? It has a subtle beauty.”

“You can’t be serious.”

“I think I’ll buy it.”

“Dead batteries? Over my dead body.”

“Look at the price, only four thousand.”

“It’s a piece of crap. Not worth four cents.”

“I want it. I’ll put it on a card.”

“Are you nuts? We can’t afford it.”

“Get over it.”

He clutched his chest and paled.

“I win,” she said.

If you would like to come out and play with Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and the Friday Fictioneers, click here and follow the instructions.

30 responses to “He said, she said

  1. Ahhh, found art. I’m rather a Philistine about art myself, at least about modern “art.” At least if he had a heart attack, she might be able to use the batteries to re-start his heart. 🙂

  2. It’s the way the red cap activates the colors of the batteries that grabbed her. Plus, I think he’s faking–embarrassed to admit he can’t see the beauty in the object. Great dialogue, Ron.

  3. Ha Ha. I guess there is a side of humor in the dialogue here,or in the morbid ways one judges the value of used up batteries, and their artistic possibilities in the decorating scheme of things.

  4. “Dead batteries? Over my dead body.” – a fantastic line. I loved how fast the dialogue moved, and how at the end the reader is left wondering whether she pushed him to the limit deliberately. Best one I’ve read this week.
    I’m at number 50.

  5. I could just see Fred Sanford staggering around clutching his chest saying, “I’m coming to see you Elizabeth.” Good one, Ron.

Leave a Reply

