Table for Two – Flash Fiction for 10/26/12

If you would like to come out and play with Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and the Friday Fictioneers, click here and follow the instructions.

Photo copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

I made my choice and closed the menu. Amy frowned. Decisions, even small ones, were agonizing for her. The waitress brought water and asked if we were ready to order.

“Give us a minute.”

I knew how it would go. Amy would vacillate and fidget and end up ordering a salad, dressing on the side. The waitress watched us, waiting for Amy to look up.

From the back, the local news on the radio. A woman dead in a fall from a canyon trail. I looked out the window toward the mountains. Decisions had always been a snap for me.

32 responses to “Table for Two – Flash Fiction for 10/26/12

  1. Like they say, “she who hesitates is lost.” I’d order pie first, but then I’d have to pick one. Yesterday it was coconut cream at the Low Gap Cafe. The apple pie with caramel drizzled on top looked divine too, and the cinnamon rolls were huge. But I went with my gut instinct and ate the first thing I saw. Choosing between falling in a canyon or sitting in a restuarant is a no brainer. There’s no pie in the canyon.

  2. What a twist at the end! That was a doozy. And, it’s Amy sitting there with him. Oh no! (What a terrible situation I’m in!) I do have an agonizing time making decisions. Great job on this, Ron. I really enjoyed it.

  3. Dear Ron,

    I agree with Ted and Sandra. Thsi was a delightful tale with a bit of mystery in the beginning (what will she order?) leading to a bigger mystery at the end (Will they go hiking?) Loved it, as usual.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Rochelle, I’m one of those slower order-ers, too, although now that I eat mostly vegetarian or vegan, there are many less choices and I can decide more quickly. But I don’t think I’d like to antagonize this guy. I’m wondering why he’s been around Amy so long without incident.

  5. Oh, Amy, you’re heading for the bottom of the canyon – didn’t see it coming, and it took me a bit to piece it out even when I was done, which made it that much better. Nice job!

  6. Ron,
    I know what I like as soon as I see it and tossing this one off a cliff doesn’t seem like such a bad idea. Ok well maybe it’s a bad idea but I get where he is coming from…
    Tom

  7. I think the penny dropped when I read the last line – he never had a problem making decisions and he never had a problem deciding to murder someone either. Nicely done Ron 🙂

Leave a Reply

