Dinner With Friends – Flash Fiction for 10/5/12

Photo courtesy Raina Ng

When the six friends entered the Vietnamese restaurant, it was empty.

“I don’t know about this. It might not be any good. Maybe we should go somewhere else,” said Justin Case.

“It’s probably fine. Let’s just take whatever they give us,” said Ben Dover.

“I agree with Justin. I can’t  wait to get out the door,” said Sally Forth.

“I don’t care, as long as they have a patio or somewhere to eat outdoors,” said Al Fresco.

“I understand what you’re all saying,” said Rosetta Stone.

“Come on guys. It’s not gonna kill you to eat here,” said Em Balmer.

If you would like to come out and play with Madison Woods and the Friday Fictioneers, click here and follow the instructions.

35 responses to “Dinner With Friends – Flash Fiction for 10/5/12

  1. Dear Ron,

    Cannot overstate the happy feeling that is rippling through me as I comment on your great story. The feelings are emanating from my smile, which is splitting my face.

    I actually have a friend named Justin Case and when I read that name my ears pricked up. The rest of the names flowed perfectly. All of their relatives might want to hire the law firm of Chase & Lynch to seek restitution. Brilliant work.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Hi Parul,
      It’s probably just an idioimatic thing. You’ve probably worked it out by now, but if you havne’t: For Justin Case, read just in case, for Ben Dover, read bend over, and I think sally forth is just a Brit expression for prancing forward. Al fresco, is Latin for outside, but you probably knew that one and for Em Balmer, read embalmer. Does that help. All just silly fun, really. Ron

  2. Disgustingly clever Ron! I was laughing from the second line! (I’ll save the brilliant puns for you!) 🙂

  3. Sounds just like some conversations I’ve had with my family on where to dine, and all they want to do is whine. LOL The picky, finicky taste of one of my kids and the nonchalant ‘I don’t care’ attitude of the other. And my husband looking for the most with the least buck. Ha. Very good, Ron. Now, I will get to a few of your other posts, too.

  4. Good chuckles here, Ron, and I can’t resist jumping in–
    “These chairs are uncommonly uncomfortable,” said Ophelia Bottom, as she joined the group. (I know, I know–Elementary School 101, but no one else used it.)

Leave a Reply

