The Faucet – Flash Fiction for 7/27/12

If you would like to come out and play with Madison Woods and the Friday Fictioneers, click here, and then click on the Blog tab and follow the instuctions.

Photo courtesy Madison Woods.

“Jimmy, go hook the hose up to the faucet.”

We were out in our backyard, in the suburbs, just before dark.

Jimmy came running back.

“I saw a big bear.” He pointed toward the faucet.

“A bear? In our yard?”

I took the hose and hooked it up. Jimmy ran into the house. For five, he had an active imagination. I watered the yard. When I finished and came in, Jimmy was asleep on the couch.

I forgot about the whole incident until the next morning when I unfolded the newspaper and saw the headline: “Bear Escapes From Local Circus.”

24 responses to “The Faucet – Flash Fiction for 7/27/12

  1. Real cute story. I am a mother of two, and a grandmother of four, and know the imagination of toddlers and young children. It is a never ending circus show with little kids. They never fail to entertain us, and wouldn’t want to change it for a moment. LOL
    Mine is here: http://jemj47.wordpress.com

  2. Ron, young humans are prone to run away and join the circus. Bears, on the other hand, just the opposite. I recommend leaving a small bicycle outside to keep them entertained until Mr. Barnum drops by to pick them up.

  3. Reminds me of my own children. I try to give them the benefit of the doubt…except the time my youngest told me there was a cow floating on a balloon in her bedroom. Nonetheless, it scared her, so I moved the balloon into another room.

    ~Susan (www.susanwenzel.com)

Leave a Reply

