The Old Graveyard – Flash Fiction for 7/20/12

This week’s photo prompt was challenging. I ran through a bunch of ideas before I could come up with anything.

If you would like to come out and play with Madision Woods  and the Friday Fictioneers, click here, and then click on the Blog tab and follow the instructions.

 

Photo courtesy Madison Woods

 

 

The old graveyard is all grown up with briars and grapevine. I take a shovel and flashlight and walk to the tombstones and find the right one. I roll up my sleeves and start.

The rain-softened ground makes digging easier, but it’s hours before my shovel grates against the metal casket. I soon have it open.

The bank bag was  there, where I’d hidden it twenty years before, in my frantic race from cops that day in the business district. They’d caught me, sent me to prison, but the money was never found. Until today, the day I got out.

15 responses to “The Old Graveyard – Flash Fiction for 7/20/12

  1. I’ll echo the Shawshank comment…too, though, I wonder what (or who) else is in the coffin and how your protagonist happened to have access to it to hide his ill-gotten gains. Interesting and thought-provoking story this week!

    ~Susan (www.susanwenzel.com)

  2. Ron,
    I have to agree with Brian. It does remind me of Shawshank Redemption, which is a compliment for it certainly was a fine story. It seems everyone is mentioning rain in their stories today. I don’t know if it’s just wishful thinking, or those writers live someplace where water actually falls from the sky. Wouldn’t that be nice 🙂

    http://russellgayer.blogspot.com/

  3. Ah, successful rehabilitation then! Funny thing is, I actually know someone who did this very thing (not the graveyard bit, that was just your magic writing touch) – 10 years for armed robbery and the money was never recovered. The laundry room must have paid well because he doesn’t seem to be short of a few bob.

    Anyway, I digress. Loved your story, Ron.

    http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/through-the-grapevine-ff-200712/

  4. He should have waited a little longer to dig up that loot. I have a feeling the authorities waited 20 yrs to recover that loot and are behind a tombstone ready to pounce on him. Back in the clink he goes… not getting a chance to spend a penny of it. I’m #68 on the list.

  5. Andy Dufresne was innocent. Still and all, Ron, a great story. Will he now head for Teewazeneeho? (I can’t figure out the correct spelling.)

    Thanks for visiting mine.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

