2012 Blog Of The Year Award

I’m grateful to be included in the 2012 Blog of the Year Award. I started my blog in the final days of 2011, so it’s been less than a year. When I started bridgesareforburning, I didn’t think anyone would read it. I thought it would be more like an online journal, something I did for my own satisfaction. So I was suprised and gratified when I found readers actually coming to my blog, offering comments and support. In less than a year, it’s become an important part of my life. So it is with great joy that I join with other bloggrs in celebrating the satisfaction that blogging  brings. Thanks to Mikaela and her blog, backfromtheedge for sharing this award with me. Her blog is fun, inspiring and honest and provides a portal into another world.

Blog of the Year Award 1 star jpeg

The ‘rules’ for this award are simple:

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Awardhttp://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/   and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)

4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them

5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience

6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

I have selected three blogs for the 2012 Blog of the Year Award

brainsnorts – Rich Voza’s blog is always good reading, whether  he’s writing about personal experience, movies, books, or politics. He also uses his blog to share fun things like The New Yorker caption contest and Friday Fictioneers flash writing group.

everydayclimb - Lea Milford writes powerfully about struggling with depression and overcoming life obstacles. Always an inspiring read.

thehonestcourtesan - For being on top on current issues and sharing some of the most  interesting  stories you’d never find on your own.

7 responses to “2012 Blog Of The Year Award

  1. this kind of recognition would not be as significant had it come from someone other than ron. his attention and encouragement to my writing is the stuff that all writers should have but struggle to find. for him to so willingly help when i need it is selfless and splendid. some of my most viewed posts would never have been written had he not made a few suggestions about not what i *was* writing but what i was *not* writing but he thought i should write. i balked at first, but after giving it some thought, i realized he was exactly right, and i’m very grateful for it.

    i have trouble with awards and recognizing others because i’m always afraid that there will be bloggers who are offended that I didn’t include them. yeah, it’s paranoid, but i can’t shake it. i know i’m breaking the rules, but i’m too afraid to piss someone off. so instead, the best i can do is say that if i were going to make such a list, then the first one on the list would be the very blog at which i’m leaving a comment now.

    happy new year and happy holidays.

    • Thanks Rich,
      Very generous comments and much appreciated. I’m a little leary of awards and don’t plan to display it in my sidebar but I did want to try to recognize excellence and insightful writing, which is why your blog is at the top of my list. I’m glad this crazy blogosphere has brought us together. Ron

  2. Thank you for sharing your recognition. It inspires us all. What’s wrong with displaying the badge in your blog’s sidebar? I’ve done it in the past (and will do so this time) because it reminds me that people need good communication, reliable information, and to make meaningful connections with others.

    You and I have edited, read & listened to each orher’s stories, and shared beverages & music. Your opinion counts a lot to me. Thanks for the commendation!

    • Hi Lea,
      Nothing wrong with displaying the award. It’s just not my thing. My thing is being a cynical, bitter old man, and that’s one of my good points! But I’m always happy to see good writers get recognition of any kind. I soured on awards, though, because I’ve seen too many undesevering people get them and too many people who should have gotten them get passed over.The old life isn’t fair whine. But what’s important to me is to have someone read something I wrote and get something out of it, and vica versa. It’s that interchange that I enjoy. I know I sound like a sore loser, but I’m not, because awards aren’t really my objective. But it was really nice to have someone make a nice gesture and that makes me feel good. Besides, I’m too much of a techie doofus to figure out how to put it on my sidebar. That’s the real reason! Ron

  3. Pingback: 2012 Blog of the Year « Everydayclimb's Blog

Leave a Reply

